Student Parents: Uncovering Their Experiences and Identifying Best Practices for Persistence and Success in Higher Education

Aug 12, 2021 | Blog, Featured1

August 18, 2021 4:00 p.m., ET/3:00 p.m., CT/1:00 p.m., PT

Register: https://pages2.act.org/student-parents.html

Join us for a 60-minute session that will highlight the experiences of student parents in higher education. We’ll hear from Nicole Lynn Lewis, CEO and founder of Generation Hope, former teen mother, social entrepreneur, and author, about her own lived experience as a young student parent and why she founded Generation Hope in 2010. Nicole will share best practices for student parent success through systemic shifts in higher education and state/national advocacy. She will also speak about her new book, Pregnant Girl, which is part memoir and part call to action. Nicole will facilitate a panel of three Generation Hope Scholars–all teen parents or former teen parents pursuing their college degrees–who will share their experiences with balancing parenting, school, and work. Panelists will also discuss the kinds of supports that have enabled them to persist through their higher education journeys.

Recent Posts

How to Help

Currently only 14.5% of American Indians hold college degrees. But with 42% of Native Americans being 24 years old or younger, you have the opportunity to make an incredible impact for this generation and generations to come when you donate today.