Meet Our Team

Meet The American Indian College Fund Team

Cheryl Crazy Bull (Sicangu Lakota)

“Mitakuyepi, Relatives”

President and CEO

Only 15% of American Indians and Alaska Natives (AIAN) age 25 and older have a college degree — less than half of that of other groups in the United States. This reflects the college access and completion crisis amongst Native peoples today. The American Indian College Fund, a 501(c)(3) organization, helps Native people meet their full potential by helping them access a higher education. But financial support is not enough. The College Fund also provides Native students with the tools, programs, and support they need to succeed.

The results are worth it. A higher education is equated with improved rates of employment, self-esteem, and health outcomes, creating a healthier and happier future for individuals, families, and communities.

My work in my near 40-year education career is inspired by the TCU founders’ vision to serve the entire community. When I attend a TCU graduation, I see young people who entered college from high school, students who earned a GED and stayed to get a certificate or degree, and older students who spent years pursuing a degree while working and raising a family. With your support, we can provide even more Native students with a higher education and the tools they need to build a bright future for themselves, their families, and their communities.

Pilamayayapi (thank you) for your support and friendship,

Wacinyanpi Win (They Depend on Her)

Cheryl Crazy Bull (Sicangu Lakota)

Read Full Bio

Leadership Team

Tammy Miller-Carlson, CPA

Tammy Miller-Carlson, CPA

Chief Financial and Operations Officer

NancyJo Houk

NancyJo Houk

Chief Marketing and Development Officer

David Sanders, Ph.D.

David Sanders, Ph.D.

(Oglala Lakota) Vice President, Research, Evaluation and Faculty Development

Emily R. White Hat, J.D.

Emily R. White Hat, J.D.

(Sicangu Lakota) Vice President, Programs

Tiffany Gusbeth

Tiffany Gusbeth

(Northern Cheyenne) Vice President, Student Success Services

American Indian College Fund
Board of Trustees

The American Indian College Fund’s Board of Trustees meets three times per year. Under the charter of the American Indian College Fund, 50% of the Board of Trustees must be tribal college and university presidents.

Trustees serve a term of three years.


Governing Board of Trustees 2022-23


Leander “Russ” McDonald, Ph.D.
United Tribes Technical College

1st Vice Chair:

Cynthia Lindquist, Ph.D.
Candeska Cikana Community College

2nd Vice Chair:

Sandra Boham
Salish Kootenai College

Resource Development Chair:

Brenda Pipestem, J.D.
Of Counsel
Pipestem & Nagel Law

Member At Large:

Michael Purvis
Managing Director
The Blackstone Group

Kathy Baird
Senior Director, Global Communications

Bill Parker

Twyla Baker, Ph.D.
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College

Lynn Dee Rapp
Eagle Opportunity

Haven Gourneau
Fort Peck Community College

Charles “Monty” Roessel, Ed.D.
Diné College

Justin Guillory, Ph.D.
Northwest Indian College

Carla Sineway
Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College

Dawson Her Many Horses, MBA
Senior Vice President and Senior Relationship Manager
Wells Fargo

Denine Torr
Executive Director,
Dollar General Literacy Foundation & Senior Director, Corporate Community Initiatives; Dollar General Corporation 

Dan King, MBA
Red Lake Nation College

Meredi Vaughan
Vladimir Jones

Stefanie D. Miller
Away From Home, Kellogg

Dennis Worden
Walmart, Inc.

Michael Oltrogge
Nebraska Indian Community College

David E. Yarlott, Ph.D.
Little Big Horn College

Non-Governing Board of Trustees

Ex-Officio Trustee

Carrie Billy, Esq.
President and CEO
American Indian Higher Education Consortium

Emeritus Trustees

Kimberly Blanchard, Esq.

Gail Bruce
Ramscale Studio

Anne Sward Hansen

Committee Advisor

Robert G. Martin, Ed. D.
Institute of American Indian Arts

Explanation of how Board Members are elected

Elections occur during the spring (annual) meeting of the board. The Board of Trustees is composed of three classes, and every spring 1/3 of the board is up for election or re-election to a three-year term. Trustees are eligible to serve up to three consecutive three-year terms (nine years total). The American Indian College Fund’s Board of Trustees charged its Nominating & Governance Committee with overseeing the annual election process.

In accordance with our bylaws, 49% of the board is comprised of private sector trustees and 51% of the board is comprised of tribal college & university (TCU) presidents.

  • For private sector trustees, the Nominating & Governance Committee solicits recommendations for candidates to serve on our board, vets these candidates, and maintains a list of eligible candidates.
  • For TCU presidents, the American Indian Higher Education Consortium nominates amongst its members candidates to serve on our board. Upon nomination, AIHEC forwards these nominations to our Nominating & Governance Committee for review and recommendation.

The Nominating & Governance Committee reviews all candidates based on qualifications, the board matrix, and current needs amongst the standing committees and the board as a whole, and moves forward its recommended slate of candidates to the full board for review and election. Service begins on July 1 and ends on June 30 in conjunction with our fiscal year.


The College Fund places its mission at the core of everything we do and how we do it. Our team is focused on creating and improving opportunity for Native individuals and communities who need it most. We thrive in our dedication to accomplishing our work together as a whole team.